Does anybody really like Candy Corn???

     I love Halloween.  I’m also rather fond of candy.  That said, I can’t stomach candy corn.  I think that everyone has certain items in a candy bowl which will remain until all of the others are gone.  Well, for me the candy corn never even makes it into the bowl.

     Let’s say I happened to be shopping for an assorted bag of Halloween candy and I had two bags to choose from.  If one bag contained some candy corn and the other bag had some live ants running around in it, I’d likely choose the one with the ants!  This is largely because I can understand why the ants would be there but I have no idea what candy corn would be doing in my bag of Halloween candy.

     Apparently, the confection was created in the 1880s by a fellow named George Renniger.  I’m sure his Wunderle Candy Co. had good intentions for their product, so I can’t fault them.  Hell, everyone makes mistakes.

     What’s curious to me is the fact that I’ve never met a single person who did like the stuff.  Trust me, I’ve asked around.  If I could have traded away all of my candy for say Hersey Bars, Tootsie Pops, or even Smarties, I’d probably weigh an extra 20 lbs. now.  Unfortunately, it seems that it is equally despised by all of my friends and acquaintances.

     Cleary, someone must be eating it.  According to the National Confectioners Association, more than 20 million lbs. of the candy are produced each year.  Where the hell is it going?

     I’m forced to think of the old fruit cake joke.  You know, the one which states that there is only 1 fruitcake in existence but people keep passing it off to each other as a gift.  Perhaps there are really only a couple pounds of candy corn in the world and somehow it keeps showing up on Halloween.

     In the name of science, I’m asking you, do you like candy corn?  Seriously, I’m begging you.  If you like candy corn or know someone who does, please let me know.  Somehow the world would make just a little more sense to me, if I knew that there was a reason for the sugary mess to still exist. 

     I hope I haven’t sounded to harsh about the poor candy corn.  Everything deserves its moment in the spotlight.  I just wish that some other type of candy was most commonly associated with Halloween.  For myself, I have one in mind.

8 thoughts on “Does anybody really like Candy Corn???

  1. The Reese’s pumpkins are the best holiday candy, second only to Reese’s eggs. Personally, I don’t enjoy eating candy corn. I will munch on a couple pieces every season, but it is not something I enjoy. I love the smell of it. (It smells like Halloween.) But, I really don’t enjoy partaking in the treat. Sorry I couldn’t help!

  2. You bring up a good point. While I can’t conjure up the smell right this moment, I’m pretty sure that I actually like the smell as well. I guess it’s similar to how the smell of a sweaty latex mask reminds me of Halloween.

    I also agree that the Reese’s eggs edge out the pumpkins (or even the traditional cups). There’s something about that shape which is just very pleasing.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Maybe we’re just wierdo’s, but I love, love, LOVE candy corn. I get so excited about seeing it on the shelves. My best friends, my family…. we all put candy corn out for the holidays. Actually, for me it’s the opposite. I’ve never met someone who doesn’t like candy corn.

    Then again, we are a pretty odd bunch…. 😉

    • Well, I stand corrected. I figured there must be some candy corn fans out there. Hopefully, I haven’t driven you off with my disparaging remarks about your choice of candy.

      Now that I consider it, being a fan of candy corn kind of goes hand in hand with being a fan of Halloween.

      Thanks for stopping by. Henceforth, I shall donate any Monster For Rent candy corn to your family!

  4. I hate candy corn…It tastes like sugar filled waxxed paper…..However, I do use the candies for decorating cakes and cupcakes…They are a cute addition that identifies certain home baked goods as a Halloween treat….If they were red for Christmas, I have a feeling they wouldnt be bought off the shelves by anyone at all…The colors of them , I think, are just a holiday spirit thing..But to me its like having dog crap chips in a candy dish….

Leave a Reply

