Lorain County Food Drive and Zombie Walk

    

     The dead roamed the streets yesterday in northern Ohio.  The Lorain County Food Drive and Zombie Walk was held in Amherst, Ohio and from what I could see, it was a huge success.

     As a big Halloween fan, I’ve been dying to take part in a zombie walk, since the trend began a few years back.  I was a bit concerned, due to the fact that Frankenstein’s monster isn’t a zombie himself.  However, the zombies were incredibly friendly and allowed me to join their ranks for the day.

     Amherst is a pretty small town but they had an amazing turnout for the event (haven’t seen a final count yet but I’m guessing it to be in the hundreds).  Staged at the Church St. Bar & Grille, the organizers obviously did a wonderful job.

     Arriving on the scene about an hour early, there were already zombies milling about everywhere.  The bar was ground zero, with the Lifeshare Bloodmobile and a smattering of vendors set up across the street.

     Nearly constant raffles were held so it sounds like a lot of people got themselves some nice little treats.

     Make-up artist were on hand for those who didn’t come in costume.  These folks were doing amazing work too, not just slapping it on.  There were some seriously creepy looking zombies rolling out of there.

     The walk itself was quite orderly.  Local residents and merchants seemed to be well-aware of the event.  I didn’t see too many shocked faces, which is probably a good thing.  The route ran from the Church Street Bar & Grille, through town and back.  I’d guess that it was around a mile or two. 

     I managed the distance without getting terribly hot in the suit.  Now I’m seriously considering doing the Fright Night 5k in Columbus this Halloween.

     Probably the biggest surprise of the day was the crowd.  Wow!  It was an incredibly diverse group of people.  You’d be hard pressed to find a greater mix of people at the mall. 

     In truth, there was an outbreak in Amherst yesterday.  It was an outbreak of smiles. Seriously, everybody in the damn town was smiling from ear to ear.  Even the few who were not in costume caught the infection.  I couldn’t help thinking, on my long drive home, that perhaps the country should have a mandatory zombie day.  If yesterday was any indication, it would do us all some good.

     All in all, it seemed like a fantastic success.  I’m guessing that this might become an annual event.  If so, the town and merchants of Amherst should really get behind it and support these folks.  These types of events are rare gems!

     As always, thank you for reading.  If you’ve enjoyed these pictures, you can see the rest of my pictures from the event on my Facebook page here:  http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.245860568784985.52749.141861909184852 

     Have you ever had a zombie walk in your community?  Did you attend the Zombie Walk yesterday?  If so, please leave a comment below.  I’d love to hear from you.

2 thoughts on “Lorain County Food Drive and Zombie Walk

  1. Very nice write up! I was looking at all of the photos and had been wondering who the Frankenstien was and now I know 🙂 Love it!

    I can’t believe I missed this 😦 I am kicking myself more and more for not going. I’ve been to several Zombie events and this looks like one of the best ones yet, at least your article helped to make me feel a bit like I was there.

    So glad to hear everyone enjoyed it, thanks for the write up and photos!

    • Thank you for your kind comment. It really was a fun event.

      As a big Halloween fan, I’m always looking for things to stretch the season a bit. I was excited when I first heard about the rise of zombie walks and this was a good first experience.

      You mention that you’re a vet of other zombie events, do you do much for Halloween as well?

Leave a Reply

