How do YOU know when it’s Halloween

Every year at about this time, I get very excited because it’s clearly “Halloween season”.  The weather is changing, leaves are falling, Halloween merchandise is everywhere, and just about every community has its share of decorations.  Conversely, November 1st rolls around and *poof*, it’s all over.

During that span, it would seem that there would be a time when everyone (or at least those who chose to) would be celebrating at the same time.  I mean, the obvious answer here is “Hey Monster, it’s Halloween on the 31st!  You know, on Halloween!”

Sure, technically Halloween is the 31st but aside from the young trick-or-treaters, and I suppose the home haunters, I suspect that Halloween night is pretty quiet for most folks.

So there you have it.  How do you know when it’s Halloween for you?  Is there a particular event that you partake in each year which really seals the deal for you?  Is there some “can’t miss” activity, after which you know you can safely pack up the black & orange for another year?

Unfortunately, I can’t say that I have one.  I’m a total Halloween nut, I take in literally every Halloween event that I can find, but I always find myself disappointed on November first.  It’s as if I fell asleep at 9pm on New Year’s Eve and missed the midnight celebration.

Tomorrow I’ll go into some detail about what would be ideal for me and the closest that I’ve managed to come.  For now, I’d love to hear what you folks think.

Leave a Reply

