The Lost Monster Cereals

In 1971, General Mills introduced its first two monster-themed breakfast cereals, Count Chocula & Franken BerryBoo Berry followed along a couple of years later and the trio quickly became household names.

Oh they’ve been a bit harder to find lately.  However, even after 40 years these 3 monster cereals are still available during the Halloween season.  I know for myself, the first sight of the monster cereal display not only lets me know that Halloween is right around the corner but also brings back a flood of good childhood memories.

Count Chocula, Franken Berry, & Boo Berry are ingrained in our pop-culture.  However, do you remember their lost companions?  Do you remember the two other monsters who once haunted the breakfast cereal aisles with them?  With Halloween fast approaching, I thought it would only be fair to throw out a little reminder of these lost monsters.

Fruit Brute (a werewolf) was released in 1974 and actually ran until 1983.  Yummy Mummy took over for the fruity version of the cereal in 1987 but was also discontinued in the early 1990s.  It appears (though I have no recollection myself) that General Mills even tried to pair these two with an “Invisible Man” character and called it “Fruity Freaks” at one point.  Though both retired, these two monsters have occasionally still appeared on official General Mills merchandise over the years.  Whether they will ever be resurrected remains to be seen.

While I’m talking about monsters and cereal, there is one other that I would like to mention.  It is a lesser known title but it fits the theme and I remember it fondly.  Freakies was released by Ralston in 1973.  The Freakies were made up of monsters named Hamhose, Gargle, Cowmumble, Grumble, Goody-Goody, Snorkeldorf and the leader BossMoss.  Each had a unique look and personality (which lead to many marketing opportunities).

In 1987, a new Freakies cereal was made, depicting the characters as aliens from another planet. Boss Moss and Grumble were still the same, but the other characters were replaced by new ones, named Hugger, Sweetie, Tooter and Hotdog.

That’s all for now.  Thank you for stopping by.  Did you remember these lost monster cereals?  Are there any other that you can recall?  I’d love to hear your memories.

3 thoughts on “The Lost Monster Cereals

  1. I remember these cereals but never bought them, because I decided that I would not buy colored cereal. My boys (now adults) like to tease me because they were denied colored cereal at home. They will never let me forget it. A few years ago their cousins even bought them a few boxes as a joke! So … the only memories I have are from TV commercials! Thank you for stopping by my site.

Leave a Reply

