Kooky Spooks

I’m a sleepy monster tonight but I wanted to leave you with a quick Halloween memory.  A couple of weeks ago I wrote a post about the Ben Cooper boxed costumes from the 70s & early 80s.  As you may recall, they were a big part of Halloween for me as a little kid.

Around 1979, a new type of costume appeared on store shelves which was quite a departure from anything we’d seen before.  “Kooky Spooks” took the costume market by storm.

If you were alive back then, I’m betting that you’ll instantly recognize them.  If not, hopefully these few pictures which I’ve managed to find will give you some idea of what they looked like.

Kooky Spooks consisted of an inflatable monster head (which the child wore on their head), a poncho, and container of matching face make-up.  The resulting look was peculiar to say the least.  Nonetheless, Kooky Spooks were all the rage at elementary school Halloween parties for a couple of years.

Were you ever a Kooky Spook when you were a kid?

One thought on “Kooky Spooks

  1. OMG! Thank u so much. I totally remember these costumes and I’ve been trying to figure out what the heck they were called for a couple weeks. Now I can go to this website & show all of my friends what I was talking about. They thought I was making it up LOL… BTW I agree with u…everyone wanted 2 dress up in these when I was a kid. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

