The party is over

Well, it’s November and the party is over.  Along my walk to work today, I passed trampled candy corn and soggy jack-o-lanterns.  It happens every year.  Weeks of build-up, lead to a frenzied week or two of activity, and then WHOOSH, it’s gone.

My friends over at Costume Hub wrote a great post today about How To Handle Post Halloween Depression and I’ve seen quite a number of other bloggers who are singing the “I miss Halloween” blues.

I won’t go as far as to say I’m depressed.  I mean sure, I’m a guy who loves to dress up like a giant monster, but I like to think I’ve got a bit more to my life than my big, green friend.  Halloween is simply a great escape for me.  Like reading a good book, it allows me to step out of myself briefly and be a kid again.

I suspect it’s that very escape which attracts so many adults to Halloween festivities.  So, if you happen to be feeling a bit blue, following your annual dose of Halloween fun, have no fear.

Remember how quickly Halloween came after you saw the first candy displays back in September?  Well, Thanksgiving, Chanukah, & Christmas will be upon you before you know it.  While the “big” holidays don’t offer up the opportunity to dress up in crazy costumes (unless you feel like giving Santa a whirl), they certainly tend to bring out the kid in all of us.

New Year’s follows right behind.  Again, maybe not a big costume holiday but think about this….wearing the perfect outfit for a big New Year’s Eve party can be just as freeing as wearing a great Halloween costume.  Get your butt out there, find a killer suit or dress and really let your hair down this year.

February brings Valentine’s Day.  If you’re part of a couple, perhaps consider how long it’s been since you’ve really gone all out for your SO.  For single folks in need of a spark, why not consider simply taking a chance that you wouldn’t normally take.  Whether it be finally asking out that person you’ve had the secret crush on or simply paying a compliment to a perfect stranger, you’d be surprised at how good it can feel to just go for it.  Remember, confidence is sexy!

St. Patrick’s Day not only offers a hell of a party but puts you quite close to the Spring thaw.

Now I know some of you are probably saying “Hey Monster, what is this nonsense?  We come to this blog because we like Halloween!”.  Fair enough, I hear you.

If you Halloween folks can just last until Spring, you’ll be all set.  If you’re really hurting for Halloween, fire up the Google searches.  Most large metropolitan areas now have “Halfway to Halloween” bashes.  Mix these up with the emergence of Zombie walks and pub crawls and you should be able to make it to summer.

Amid vacations, pools and barbecues, you have some very important work to do.  This is the time when you want to be deciding on what you’ll be for Halloween 2012.  If you get everything figured out early enough, then you’ll have no regrets once the Halloween season is finally upon you.

Well folks, that’s all I’ve got for you.  Hope it is of some help.

I want to just take a moment to thank my readers.  I broke 4,000 hits last night and it was quite exciting for me.  I realize it’s a relatively minor milestone in the blogging world but I got quite a kick out of it.

Your comments, stories, and insights have provided me with a great deal of fun over the past couple months.  I appreciate it.

In the days to come, I’ll continue to post about my monster.  In addition, I’ve enjoyed this little experiment so much that I’ll also be starting a non-Halloween blog.  If any of you are curious as to the day-to-day adventures of the man behind the mask, I’d be glad to have you along.

3 thoughts on “The party is over

  1. I have a little something to add here…. If you are not ready to let go just yet… Hit the stores!! There are some pretty spectacular bargains out there on Halloween stuff right now! It’s a great time to start getting ready for next year! You can still squeeze out another week or so of Halloween goodness!

  2. Aw, this is a nice post. I have definitely been struck with post Halloween blues this year and will stave off sadness by planning super early for next year’s festivities!

Leave a Reply

